backtrack; Les vacances de M. Hulot (1953)

Everything they say about Tati is true. His movies are all charming, intelligent, elegant, and meticulously well executed. Unfortunately, though, they are seldom funny enough to even qualify as real comedies. And this slow, thinly stretched out string of bizarre seaside events is no exception.

The debut of the famous monsieur Hulot is definitely a unique and interesting object of study, but does not stay in my book.

Vacances

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to backtrack; Les vacances de M. Hulot (1953)

  1. I actually watched this film this month as well and pretty much agree with you. I did really like Playtime, however.

  2. SJHoneywell says:

    Well, I’ll chime in to disagree. I found this film extremely entertaining despite the very loose structure and relative lack of plot.

  3. nicolas krizan says:

    Mon oncle is my favourite Tati so far (haven’t seen Trafic yet). Playtime is a very intricate and beautiful construction, but it too should have needed more gags to meet my definition of a comedy.

  4. Duke says:

    After seeing the Hulot films, I finally understood how and why the French are so thrilled by Jerry Lewis. Hulot is a gentler and more benign version of the Nutty Professor. I agree about the lack of laughs in the Hulot canon, although there were a few sight gags in Mon oncle and Playtime that earned a snicker.

  5. nicolas krizan says:

    I never find it painful to watch Tati, only a trifle boring at times. Jerry Lewis, on the other hand, nowadays gives me the creeps. He was a favourite when I was about twelve, though. Go figure…

Leave a Reply

