on guard

guard

The Guardian reports that BBC has tried to pick the greatest movies of the new millennium (so far). Only 54 of their 100 has ever been in an official 1001 edition, and I must say that several of the remaining 46 are rather glaring omissions from the good book.

http://www.bbc.com/culture/story/20160819-the-21st-centurys-100-greatest-films

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to on guard

  1. SJHoneywell says:

    There are some real misses on their list, though. Amelie, 28 Days Later, and The Incredibles stand as significant misses on that list.

    Pan’s Labyrinth #98? Seriously?

  2. Oops, forgot the link! And I see now that it was BBC that instigated the list, not The Guardian. Guess I’ll have to edit the post a little…

    And concerning your three examples:
    • Amélie is actually on the list, at number 87.
    • 28 Days Later is indeed great.
    • Haven’t seen Incredibles yet, but I’ll take your word for it.

    By the way, I found a new list by BBC – watch out for my next post!

  3. SJHoneywell says:

    Huh. I even did a search for Amelie and it didn’t come up. Damn me for trying to take a shortcut!

    Really, really, really track down The Incredibles.

  4. I really, really, really will! No firm promises as to when, though…

Leave a Reply

