1297

compton

Straight outta Compton (2015)

Conventional, slightly jumbled, engaging – a heady concoction of black anger at institutionalized racism, musical career skills, and youthful lack of impulse control.

Partly fictionalized and heavily sanitized, as Hollywood biopics have an unfortunate tendency to be. Still maybe in my book of reality rap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1297

  1. SJHoneywell says:

    I was surprised at how much I liked this and how compelling I found it. It helps that they got Ice Cube’s son to play him–he looks like his dad and sounds exactly like him.

  2. Same here. I almost never listen to hiphop, and I’m not particularly interested in the subject matter, but this catches me anyway. And yes, the similarities between Ice Cube Sr and Jr are almost uncanny!

Leave a Reply

